Huntington Beach Car Crash: Your Guide to the Basics

0
695
Huntington Beach
The northern Orange County California city of Huntington Beach shot from an altitude of about 2000 feet over the Pacific Ocean.

Unfortunately, road accidents happen all the time in California. If you were injured in such a crash in Huntington Beach, it is important to seek legal representation. Being an at-fault state, California allows you to recover compensation from the other party for your losses and injuries. Each auto accident case is unique and must be evaluated on an individual basis. A skilled Huntington Beach personal injury attorney can help you find more about your accident. For your help, here is an overview of the basic laws and key aspects.

What should you do after the crash?

  • Pullover and check if someone is injured
  • Call 911 for seeking medical attention
  • Inform the local police
  • Exchange contact details and insurance info with other drivers involved
  • Take pictures of the accident scene
  • Wait for the police to arrive
  • Contact your insurance company
  • Contact an attorney

Do you need a personal injury lawyer?

The short answer is yes. Hiring a lawyer for your car accident case would help evaluate the true worth of your claim. Your injury attorney can answer questions related to the crash and what you can expect in a settlement. If you are working with PI lawyers for the first time, you need to know about their experience. Ask questions like – 

  • How often do you deal with car accident lawsuits?
  • How long have you been working in Huntington Beach?
  • Do you have experience with trials?
  • Can you share your top cases and settlements?
  • Will you work on my case, or will an associate be assigned?

Understanding fault in car accidents in California

Most car accidents in California are complicated. If you had a role in causing the crash, your fault percentage would determine what you get of the settlement given to you. California laws allow you to recover a settlement even when you are more at fault than the other party. How does the pure comparative fault rule work? Let’s assume that you were 70% at fault and yet decided to sue the other driver. You were given $50,000 in a settlement. Despite having the major share in fault, you can still recover $15,000 as the final settlement. Of course, the chances are high that the other party would sue you in such circumstances. 

You can look around now to find top lawyers for car accidents in California. Insist on a meeting in person before you hire one.