The Must Know Penalties for a DUI in California

0
455
Penalties for a DUI
IMAGE SOURCE: imagesource.io

California DUI penalties and punishments are based on various factors. These factors can range from whether you have a prior DUI charge or if any individual was injured. If you are charged with a DUI case, you need to seek an experienced attorney’s help to avoid or minimize DUI penalties. You need to be aware of the penalties for a DUI in California. 

Penalties for a First Offense Misdemeanor California DUI

There are various penalties for defendants convicted of driving under the influence in California for the first time. These include probation for 3 to 5 years, jail for up to six months, a fine between 390 dollars and 1000, and a court-approved alcohol education program. In addition to all these penalties, the judge may order the defendant to install an IID in the vehicle to continue driving without restrictions. Failure to comply can result in the suspension of the driver’s license. 

Punishment for a Second Offense Misdemeanor California DUI

There are various penalties for defendants convicted of driving under the influence in California for the second time. These include probation for 3 to 5 years, county jail for up to one year, a fine between 390 dollars and 1000, and a court-approved alcohol education program. In addition to all these penalties, the judge can order the defendant to install an IID in the vehicle for one year to continue driving without restrictions. Failure to comply can result in the suspension of the defendant’s driver’s license for two years. 

Penalties for a Third Offense Misdemeanor California DUI?

There are various penalties for defendants convicted of driving under the influence in California for a third offense. These include probation for 3 to 5 years, minimum county jail of up to 120 days and a maximum of up to one year, a fine between 390 dollars and 1000, and a court-approved alcohol education program. In addition to all these penalties, there is also a mandatory installation of an IID in the vehicle for two years to continue driving without restrictions. Failure to comply can result in the suspension of the defendant’s driver’s license for two years. Also, the defendant will be designated as a “habitual traffic offender.”

Punishment for a DUI with Injuries

If drunk driving causes injuries, then it can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. However, the charges will depend on the circumstances surrounding the arrest as well as the criminal history of the offender. If a person other than the offender is injured due to drunk driving, various penalties for defendants convicted of misdemeanor driving under the influence will be levied. These include probation for 3 to 5 years, minimum county jail of up to 5 days and a maximum of up to one year, a fine between 390 dollars 5000, and a court-approved alcohol education program. In addition to all these penalties, there is also a mandatory installation of an IID in the vehicle for 6 months to continue driving without restrictions. Failure to comply can result in the suspension of the defendant’s driver’s license for one year.

Read Also : Understanding Opposites Of Depression From Terms To Emotions